Our latest urban exploration adventure seen us heading to the infamous red dress manor, which is a beautiful old building located down some sleepy country lanes. The architecture is certainly unique and had one of our cameras not have given up the ghost there would have been more shots!
The property has been vacant since the 1970’s and unlike most other explorations we have been on, the building has not been stripped, which made it feel more personal. The house still carries the signs of life, it is littered with personal belongings and letters addressed to the former residents, though it is evident no-one has been here for some time. Unfortunately a lot of the items which make it unique have been taken by people who clearly have no morals, this includes the iconic red dress.
We were unsure if the outbuildings belonged to the property as they were surrounded by cows and evidently still in use by the local farmers.
Floors within the building are deteriorating to some extent and whilst not as bad as some we have visited I would advise caution, particularly on the upper levels.
Unlock 6 bonus images:
Under an Amendment Act set in 1834 all parishes in Wales and England were grouped together into Poor Law Unions. Each Poor Law Union had to provide a place where people who were unable to support themselves could live and work, known as the workhouse. Because of this the Hospital was erected during 1839 by the Holywell Poor Law Union.
Daresbury hall was erected in the mid 1700’s by the Greenhall family in the Georgian style. The building itself has served most of its life as a Stately home and was last occupied by the Hill family. Read More
The Pool Parc Asylum has a long history and is part of an estate dating back to the 1500’s. Bought by William Salusbury and passed to his son Charles Salusbury, who died with no male heir. The estate was inherited by his daughter Jane and passed through marriage to the Bagot family when Jane married Sir Charles Bagot.
In 1826 the manor was remodelled incorporating the lavish details into the external stonework and the main staircase. The manor remained the seat of the Bagot family until 1928 when they got into a sticky situation and it was sold to a pay bad debt and was leased to Sir Henry Tate, of Tate and Lyle fame. Read More
The pub’s history dates back to the 16th century and in 1843 took on the name of Dymock Arms. The Grade II listed building was left devastated in 2010 after the building became the victim of an arson attack. In 2012 plans were put forward to the local council to restore the building however nothing came of this, presumably due to the substantial structural damage caused in the blaze.
Construction of the hall began in the early 17th Century as the family home of the Bulkeley family. As with many such estates construction was ongoing and the building was remodelled in 1776 by architect Samuel Wyatt, adding many of the characteristic features, such as the high columns supporting the entrance hall. Read More
The building has been used as a house, spa, Girls’ School and hospital. The house is set in walled gardens of around 18 acres (73,000 m2), which are themselves set in grounds of around 5,000 acres (20 km2), encompassing open fields, parkland and forests. The 1870s structure is an example of the myriad of new types of buildings that were arising during the Victorian era to fulfill increasingly specialised functions.
Designed by architect Thomas Full James, building started in 1844 and completed in 1848. Once a hospital for people with psychiatric illnesses, at its maximum capacity it could house 200 patients.
The building is currently in a really sorry state and in many places getting quite dangerous.
The building is falling apart and we had to be very careful of what was above. In most areas you can see the collapsing floor above you and trying to go up stairs should be avoided.
Gwrych Castle was erected between 1819 and 1825. The castle was also used as a training venue for the English World Middleweight boxing champion Randolph Turpin in the early 1950s. In the early 60s it was an occasional venue for the famous motorcycle Dragon Rally and in the 70s it was used as a centre for medieval re-enactments.
The castle was last open to the public in 1985. Thereafter, it started to decline. It was bought in 1989 by an American businessman however his plans to renovate the building were not carried out. As a result, the castle was extensively looted and vandalised, becoming little more than a derelict shell.